Scholarship Program to Send 83 Youth to Summer Camps

Posted: June 22, 2015

BTSLA_2014_Fullerton Camp 17
June 22, 2015  |  BTSLA announced today that 83 deserving Los Angeles youth and High School wrestlers have earned the distinguished opportunity to attend summer wrestling camps through BTSLA’s Camp Scholarship Program. The program, now in it’s third year has awarded 179 camp scholarships.

Recipients are nominated by their coaches and selected for exhibiting dedication and commitment to BTSLA programs. This year’s honorees will be attending a number of outstanding wrestling camps.

BTSLA athletes return for the 3rd consecutive year to Marcie Van Dusen’s MVD High Altitude Women’s Wrestling Camps ( in Lake Arrowhead, CA. A 2008 Olympian, Van Dusen’s camp is the benchmark for camps designed specifically for female wrestlers. Campers will see 2004 Olympic Silver Medalist Sarah McMann as the featured clinician.

MMA star Mark Munoz hosts the West Coast Wrestling Camp ( A mainstay in Southern California wrestling, the camp features multiple NCAA Champions & All-Americans as well as 2000 Olympic Gold Medalist Brandon Slay. The camp is held at The Academy by the Sea in Carlsbad, California and is centered on a sixteen acre campus on the shores of the Pacific Ocean.

Arizona State University Head Wrestling Coach Zeke Jones’ Sun Devil Wrestling Camp ( is located on the beautiful Tempe, AZ campus. The camp features the ASU coaching staff including a trio of world level elite wrestlers and past NCAA Champions in Tyrell Fortune, Jordan Oliver, and Ed Ruth.

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo Coach Brendan Buckley’s Mustang Wrestling Camp ( takes place in beautiful Morro Bay, steps away from California’s Central Coast beaches. Coach Buckley, his coaching staff, and former NCAA Champion wrestler Adam Tirapelle will serve as camp instructors for the 4 day camp.

Rounding out the camp schedule are two first time Los Angeles area commuter camps. Mt. San Antonio College and Head Coach David Rivera will serve host to an all girls camp featuring elite women’s wrestler Jessica Medina. And standout coach Valentin Kalika will host a 3-day commuter camp at Calvary Chapel High School featuring World ranked wrestler and Los Angeles native, Aaron Pico.

2015 Camp Scholarship Program Honorees:

MVD High Altitude Wrestling Camp
Salma Morales – Porter
Mercedes Rodriguez -Mt Gleason
Rosalinda Vargas – Pathway HS
Jordan Thomas – Stella 7/8
Miya Galvan – Griffith
Leslie Zapata – Griffith
Yesika Guzman – Muholland
Amanda Morales – Pico Rivera
Sheila Marin – Pico Rivera
Wendy Hernandez – San Pedro
Yessenia Escobar – San Pedro
Mia Delgado – South El Monte
Crystal Soto – South El Monte
Ciello Portillo – South El Monte
Jasmine Fernandez – PUC
Becky Acedo – Century YAL
Giana Anaya – San Fernando
Sandra Castrejon – San Fernando
Rosalinda Arana – San Fernando
Jessica Vasquez – San Fernando
Alexandra Cota – San Fernando
Karen Romero – Fremont
Dianna Seawood – Fremont
Diana Galindo – Fremont
Monica Acevedo – Bell
Emily Gonzalez – South El Monte

Zeke Jones’ Sun Devil Wrestling Camp

Jacob Duran – San Pedro
V’ante Moore – Stella 7-8
Jonino Liangco – Mulholland
Kobe Lepe – San Fernando
Albert Del Toro – San Fernando

Brendan Buckley’s Mustang Wrestling Camp

Michael Rankins – Pico Rivera
Kamar Findley – Edison
Leonardo Francisco – Irving
Jacob Duran – San Pedro
Jonino Liangco – Mulholland
Jason Aguilar – Pico Rivera
Onyx Lee – Porter
Bryan Soto – S. El Monte
Jhuan Mendoza – Stella 5-6
Nathaniel Botello – Stella 7-8
V’ante Moore – Stella 7-8
Paul Okpaluago – Stella 7-8
Steven Jones – PUC
Brandon Cuervo – Porter
Chris Vasquez – Walnut Park
Adrian Vasquez – Walnut Park
Andres Perez – TMWC

Mark Munoz – West Coast Wrestling Camp
Emmanuel Zepeda – Fremont
Andrew Rivera – Valor
Onyx Lee – Porter
Christian Loera – Porter
Eric Roca – San Fernando
Nathaniel Botello – Stella 7-8
Allan Rodriguez – Pico Rivera
Pedro Gallegos – Valor
Eduardo Ruano – Topanga
Michael Rankins – Pico Rivera
Evan Azurdia – San Fernando
Jeremiah Mosindi – San Fernando
Juan Solis – San Fernando
Adrian Loera – San Fernando
Matthew Garcia – San Fernando

Mt. SAC Featuring Jessica Medina
Cielo Portillo – South El Monte
Emily Gonzalez – South El Monte
Mia Delgado – South El Monte
Crystal Soto – South El Monte
Rebecca Carbajal – South El Monte
Juliana Marquez – South El Monte
June Marquez – South El Monte
Jenice Marquez – South El Monte
Alisha Perez – South El Monte
Hennessy Martnez – South El Monte

Valentin Kalika Featuring Aaron Pico

 Chris Cano – San Pedro
Christian Custard – San Pedro
Yessenia Escobar – San Pedro
Vincent Gutierrez – San Pedro
Eric Hall – San Pedro
Ben Martinez – San Pedro
Jesus Mejia – San Pedro
Carlos Navarro – San Pedro
Abraham Rivera – San Pedro
Saul Zuniga – San Pedro